There are no documents confirming the stay of Nicolaus Copernicus in Olsztynek. However, you can see several buildings in the town that are from the same period as the great astronomer.
Olsztynek obtained city rights in 1359. It developed at the previously erected Teutonic castle. In its rebuilt wings today there is a school. Other monuments in Olsztynek include: remains of the town’s walls and a Gothic church from the 14th century, in which today there is the Exhibition Hall of the Folk Architecture Museum. The museum exhibition was also organized in the house where Krzysztof Celestyn Mrongowiusz (1764-1855), an Evangelical priest and advocate of Polishness was born. The museum's Ethnographic Park, which has over 70 facilities of ancient rural architecture, seems to attract many tourists. The Town Hall operates the Multimedia Museum of the Stalag IB Prison Camp and the History of Olsztynek.
The picturesque surroundings of the town encourage active recreation. Kayaking on the Łyna River and its charming tributary Marózka are surely a great experience.